Vanishing Artifacts – the Gravestone and Silver Spoon

Apart from the parish register, two other sources contain evidence for this, the 25th in the 50 Marriage Mondays series.  Typical of 18th century parish registers, the entry gives only limited information:

Bride: Mary Wilson
Groom: Edward Pratt
Date: 9 March 1777
Location: Clent, Worcestershire
Witnesses: Ann Wilson, Thos Wilson

Pratt family gravestone, Clent

Pratt family gravestone, Clent

A gravestone in the churchyard of St Leonards in Clent commemorates this couple, their daughter and son-in-law and indicates Wannerton as their residence.

When I took the photo in ca 1998, I could only read the parts highlighted in red.  Fortunately, the monumental inscriptions were recorded and published by the Birmingham and Midland Genealogy and Heraldry Society in 1989, so I can fill in the gaps:

Sacred to the memory of
EDWARD PRATT
(late of Wannerton)
He departed this life March 31st 1811
aged 57 years.
Likewise MARY wife of the above
who departed this life March 10th 1839
aged 90 years
Also SARAH daughter of Edward
and Mary Pratt wife of
JOHN SMITH (of this parish)
died January 24th 1811 aged 32 years
Also of the above JOHN SMITH
he departed this life March 7th 1841
aged 66 years

The will of Mary’s mother confirms the family connection with Wannerton and Mary’s marriage.  The will also gives information on the marriages of Mary’s two sisters.  Siblings Thomas and Ann are likely candidates for the witnesses to Mary’s marriage.

Extract from the Will of Sarah Wilson (nee Raybould) of Wannerton, made 19 January 1795, proved 2nd February 1795:

In the Name of God Amen I Sarah Wilson of Wannerton in the county of Worcester, Widow ….. give and bequeath unto my four youngest children viz Mary the wife of Edward Pratt, Ann the wife of George Boraston, Thomas and Joseph the said sum of one hundred pounds each ……. I give and bequeath unto my son Thomas Wilson all and singular my Household Goods Implements of Household and other Household Effects situate and being in my dwelling house at Wannerton…… I intend otherwise to dispose of consisting of Ninepair of Sheets and one Silver Spoon marked with the day of my Birth I give and bequeath unto my Daughters Mary Pratt, Ann Borraston and Sarah Crowther  Waldron equally share and share alike but the said Silver Spoon particularly give and bequeath unto my said Daughter Mary Pratt  All my Wearing Apparel of what nature or kindsoever of which I shall die possessed I Give and bequeath unto my said Daughters Mary Pratt Ann Borraston and Sarah Waldron to be equally divided amongst them share and share alike  One pair of Silver Shoe Buckles I Give and bequeath unto my Daughter Ann Borraston ……. appoint my said Son Thomas Wilson and my Son in Law Edward Pratt executors thereof  In witness whereof I the said Sarah Wilson have to this my last will and testament set my hand and Seal the Nineteenth day of January one Thousand Seven Hundred and Ninety five

I wonder if one of Mary’s children inherited the silver spoon and whether it passed down the generations or was lost or otherwise disposed of.

© Sue Adams 2013


2 Comments on “Vanishing Artifacts – the Gravestone and Silver Spoon”

  1. Colleen says:

    Very interesting. I wonder about the spoon… Welcome to Genabloggers!

    Like

  2. […] Vanishing Artifacts – the Gravestone and Silver Spoon […]

    Like


Leave a comment